Walking September 2009

Posted by: Calluna

Walking September 2009 - 09/01/09 01:39 PM

Hi

Newbie here, I am going to be walking the Dalesway early in September. Just wondering if I will be bumping into any of you good people, I'm a bit nervous at it will be my first LDP on my own. Have any other women walked LDP's and was it safe?

Did my first LDP - South Downs Way last June, as a supported walk, now I have the bug!!
Posted by: segedunum

Re: Walking September 2009 - 09/01/09 01:47 PM

Did the Dales Way last year with a group of 6 people
All except for myself on their first long distance walk
It’s really beautiful and every one we met were very friendly
Im sure you will be fine it’s supposed to be on of the easiest of the log distance walks
Enjoy…………

Re: Walking September 2009 - 09/01/09 01:56 PM

Ta Segedunum

It's not the mileage or hills that is worrying me, it's the thought of crossing fields of bulls/bullocks on my own (had a bad experience with them in the lakes last summer!)and I suppose being a woman in the wilds on my own. Probably be alright after the first solo walk, will have to be.....I will be doing the C2C next year!!
Posted by: Harland

Re: Walking September 2009 - 09/01/09 02:08 PM

I am not keen on anything big especially if they have horns. I tend to shout at them and wave my map although it doesn't always work! I make sure that I am near enough to get over a fence/wall in case of need, even if I will get stung/land in poo or whatever!

I always start walks by myself and just meet up with other people on the way that I can either walk with or not. I intend to walk the Dales Way sometime this year as I want to try out my new tent for a few days prior to hopefully walking Land's End to John O'Groats next year.

Re: Walking September 2009 - 09/01/09 02:27 PM

Hi Harland