You can do it!

Posted by: Gin

You can do it! - 16/08/07 08:03 PM

Hello everybody!
I'm a girl from Holland, and about a month ago I finished walking the Pennine Way. Before I left, on the 22nd of June, I was quite scared because somebody had written that only 1% of the people who start walking, actualy finish it. And also the fact that everybody said it was important to know how to use a compass didn't make me more confident.
I do know how to use a compass, but I'm not an expert, and I defenitely didn't want to take all of the OS maps because they're heavy and expensive.

In the end I decided to go anyway, and just give it a try. I took the Trailblazer Guide (written by Edward de la Billiere and Keith Carter) and the two footprint maps. I bought a new lightweight tent, and off I went...

I walked 16 days and had two rest days. One of them was because the combination wind and rain made it absolutely impossible to walk straight. I spent two nights in a youth hostel to dry out my kit, and I camped the rest of the nights.
And I need to say that it defenitely wasn't as difficult as I thought it would be. The signposting was good on most of way, and the guidebook and maps helped me out on places where that wasn't the fact. I needed to use my compass twice (on Cross Fell in thick fog, and just before Black Hill, when I lost the path). The only thing that made me hesitate to continue was the weather. Not only because I was wet and cold most of the time, but especialy because most of the paths had become a river. On places where there were slabs and duckboards it was allright (and I'm very thankfull to the people who put them there!!) but on the rest there tended to be a layer of about 10cm of water at least. Once I sank in the mud until my waist!