The Sherpa Van Project Baggage Moving Service Accommodation booking service Sherpa Van Home Choose which trail you want to follow Sherpa Van Home Sherpa Van Shop Sherpa Van Message Board Contact us About the Sherpa Van Project
Advertising

Coast to Coast and other paths booking now!

Daily Dales Way Passenger Service

Baggage and Accommodation Booking Services for Walking Holidays in Britain - Now Booking!

Top Posters
Slogger 2892
Lounge Lizard 2013
slowcoach 1925
Oldun 1750
lightweightmick 1690
Find Us On Facebook
Meet other Sherpa Van Forum members on Facebook
Meet other Sherpa Van Forum members on Facebook
Forum Stats
8254 Members
17 Forums
3452 Topics
35984 Posts

Max Online: 257 @ 05/10/16 05:36 PM
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#43006 - 13/08/08 12:21 PM walking hiking books
Alpacca Offline

Hi Everyone.
I am new to this and am lacking in knowledge and direction (though thankfully not a sense of). I was advised that doing the penine way would be a good introduction to walk/hiking but i have no idea how long it is . Can anyone advise me on a good book or books with up to date or long lasting good advice on varying levels of walks, maps, accomadation, prep/kit lists.
Maybe the penine is a bit much and a challenging three day walk would be better seeing as i am likely to be doing this alone and the Mrs might not be that cool with me using six days anual leave without her.

maybe you could think back to how you started and using your experience now think of the best intro to this sport/past time. I am quite fit but living in central London time is allways an issue and everything is in short distance. So I have never walked more than five miles but I want a challenge or at least some very nice scenery..

Any advice would be much appreciated

#43008 - 13/08/08 12:56 PM Re: walking hiking books [Re: Alpacca]
tim smith Offline

Loc: england
hi Alpacca,