The Sherpa Van Project Baggage Moving Service Accommodation booking service Sherpa Van Home Choose which trail you want to follow Sherpa Van Home Sherpa Van Shop Sherpa Van Message Board Contact us About the Sherpa Van Project
Advertising

Coast to Coast and other paths booking now!

Daily Dales Way Passenger Service

Baggage and Accommodation Booking Services for Walking Holidays in Britain - Now Booking!

Top Posters
Slogger 2893
Lounge Lizard 2013
slowcoach 1925
Oldun 1750
lightweightmick 1697
Find Us On Facebook
Meet other Sherpa Van Forum members on Facebook
Meet other Sherpa Van Forum members on Facebook
Forum Stats
8273 Members
17 Forums
3454 Topics
36023 Posts

Max Online: 290 @ 18/04/20 08:00 PM
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#54767 - 12/04/10 07:29 PM Help!! Edale to Crowden
marcgood Offline

Hi I hope someone can help, I am walking from Edale to Crowden and its my first time on the Pennine way. I can not really read maps and I was just wondering would I be able to navigate from Edale to crowden? are paths visable as I am really scared I will get lost. I am camping at Feild head April 23rd walking to crowden 24th camping at Crowden then walking back to feild head 25th - what are you thoughts? will I get lost?

I look forward to some replys!!!

Marc

#54773 - 12/04/10 09:16 PM Re: Help!! Edale to Crowden [Re: marcgood]
Stottie Offline

Loc: Derbyshire, England
here's something I posted on another website yesterday.

Water
I have no qualms about drinking from judiciously chosen streams, especially when they are flowing strongly (i.e. now) which means there's plenty of dilution even if a sheep just had a wee a mile upstream. Good places to fill your bottle on day one are:
near the foot of Jacobs Ladder;
at the upper end of Hern Clough, where perennial springs gush from a marshy bank.